Do you send an onboarding survey?

Caitlin Boucher
Caitlin Boucher Member Posts: 2 Seeker

Hello, 

I am currently working on improving our onboarding process and playbooks and one thing we are considering adding is an onboarding survey at the completion of onboarding before a customer moves to value. 

Does anyone else send an onboarding survey? If so, are there any questions you've found work well? 

This is my first time posting in this community and I look forward to interacting with everyone!

Thanks,

Caitlin Boucher

Tagged:

Comments

• Steve Bernstein
    Steve Bernstein Member Posts: 133 Expert
    Third Anniversary 100 Comments Name Dropper Photogenic
    edited August 2020

Great question! And welcome to GGR, Caitlin! Onboarding is often the first "moment of truth" for a vendor/provider, and asking the stakeholder team for their assessment of the experience and outcome is extremely important. Giving the CSM an ability to course-correct for the specific accounts it critical if the customer feels it fell short, as is aggregating to identify those patterns of recurring issues to stomp them out at the root cause. So here's some guidance on the process:

1. Take a programmatic approach: Make sure to set it up as a tracking program, and put process in place to drive customer participation in providing the feedback. Starting with onboarding, how does the sentiment of those contacts and accounts trend over time? Are they truly moving in the right direction? Are you acquiring trustworthy/representative customer feedback (i.e. coverage from all of the Stakeholders that matter)?

Similarly, a sales-to-CS hand-off process will be key. Here's a great article from Paul Piazza, a solid industry luminary with deep expertise in this area, providing more detail on this point:  https://waypointgroup.org/nailing-the-handoff-part-one-onboarding/