Customer Success Leader Bonus Plan

Options
Jeff Breunsbach
Jeff Breunsbach Member Posts: 266 Gain Grow Retain Staff
5 Insightfuls Photogenic First Anniversary GGR Blogger 2022
edited September 2020 in CS Org Conversations
Good Morning, I received an email from a fellow CS Leader who is looking for advice on how the Leadership Team within their organization should be compensated.  

See the snippet below: 
My company is moving to a model  where CS is holding renewal responsibility in 2021. Our leadership team is in agreement that our CSMs should receive commission for renewals. My question is what about the leadership team? Is it common that CS leaders would get commission? Or is a bonus based on a specific renewal rate more common? I am a regional manager with 9 direct reports, expecting to add 2-3 more in 2021. What's being proposed by our leadership team is a bonus based on a specific renewal rate. Any resources you could point me to, I would be very grateful for. 
What're your suggestions? 

@Kristi Faltorusso @Ziv Peled @Jay Nathan @Chad Horenfeldt @Matt Myszkowski

Comments

• Brian Hartley
    Brian Hartley Member Posts: 185 Expert
    First Comment First Anniversary
    edited September 2020
    Options
    Hey @Jeff Breunsbach I, along with the rest of the leadership team, are compensated based on Change in ARR ( Total New ARR + Downgrades + Losses) paid out quarterly but can be tied out at the end of the year (i.e. if we miss one Q but kick a** the rest of the year and meet our annual target we would get the entire amount.).  I like that all of the leadership team is held to same standard, win and lose as a team.

So while I am not personally tied to a a renewal rate persay, the downgrades/losses have a direct impact to the renewal rate.  Hope this helps.

------------------------------
    Brian Hartley
    Senior Director, Customer Success
    -------------------------------------------
    Original Message:
    Sent: 09-04-2020 07:49