CSM at non-SaaS, non-service company: where to start?

Options
Frespian
Frespian Member Posts: 6 Seeker
First Anniversary Photogenic
edited September 2020 in Strategy & Planning

Hi all,

I'm new to this great community and to CSM so I hope you guys could give me some tips.

I've been working in sales for 5 years in a company which manufactures and sells high-tech equipment for atmospheric measurements and early 2020 I moved to a CSM position - a new role created under Tech Support department which never existed in our company before. 

Clearly the reason for this new role creation lies in ailing customer satisfaction - for years the company was product-centered and I'm glad that finally we're moving to more customer-oriented approach.

Now the big challenge I'm facing (apart from building up a CS structure from scratch) is that I need to figure out what principles and techniques can be borrowed from CSM in SaaS and applied to a classical hardware-selling company which has only a small part of services (training and maintenance offering and a small piece of software).

Unfortunately, as CSM appeared in SaaS world, all resources I can find available today talk about CSM in this context - subscription-based products.

So I'm curious to know your thoughts - what would be the main CSM components we could implement in a non-SaaS company? What metrics could I use to track customer success given that we sell hardware products? What would you do first as a CSM in a non-SaaS company?

Thanks for sharing your ideas!

Comments

• Jarren Pinchuck
    Jarren Pinchuck Member Posts: 38 Expert
    edited September 2020
    Options
    Hi @Anna Batychko

Welcome to the world of Customer Success, once you've moved over to this side of the fence there is no turning back.