Anyone running a CS team for an on-premise software company?

Options
Jim Jones
Jim Jones Member Posts: 25 Expert
First Comment First Anniversary Name Dropper
edited February 2021 in CS Technology
I may be taking a new role building and heading up a customer success team for a company that has exclusively on-premise software. I've got some experience running CS for on-prem systems but most of my experience is in SaaS.

There's a general concern among the company's management about building a health score or getting adoption/usage metrics to gauge what's being used, etc. Putting in telemetry/"phone home" capabilities might be an option but it's not happening soon, and won't fit across all our customer base.

So, if you have a black box for customer usage info, etc., how would you handle it? Happy to set up an offline call with anyone that would be willing to share ideas. Thank you.
Tagged:

Comments

• Emmanuel Malanda
    Emmanuel Malanda Member Posts: 12 Contributor
    First Anniversary
    edited February 2021
    Options
    Hi @Jim Jones,

Few things i have experimented with to understand scale, scope and value derived from the product which i will share here and will also share how i have adapted that in relation to the Health Score.

Option 1 is to have a capability within the product to send the metrics back to you and i see on your post that the "phone home" capability is something that you are exploring however that in itself has challenges e.g. not every customer will be willing to configure their system to automatically send metrics to their supplier, in the world i operate (FinTech), I often get the "we cannot send you this data due to confidentiality" or other variations of the same confidentiality card...