First CSM at Startup

Options
Colin Smith
Colin Smith Member Posts: 2 Navigator
Hi there,

Longtime listener, first-time caller here. I am looking to connect with other members who are the first CSM in their Orgs. I just started as CSM for a travel agent technology startup. 

I would love to learn more best practices and hear advice and feedback from other first CSM's. 

What metrics are you using to start? How is your role different than traditional CSM roles? Any advice for not getting lost in the weeds?

Cheers, 

Colin

Comments

• Amanda Watson
    Amanda Watson Member, CS Leader Posts: 31 Expert
    First Anniversary Photogenic 5 Likes
    edited February 2022
    Options
    Hi Colin -
    I don't have any advice, just wanted to say - You are not alone! I am building the first customer success function for my company and so far - I am the team! I have been with the company for almost 20 years and I am a product/industry expert, but new to CS. I would love to hear feedback from others, too.

We have been considering using a consulting firm to get us up and running - but our business is pretty unique and just concerned about how that would play out. 

Wish you well. 
    Amanda
  • Jeff Heckler
    Jeff Heckler Member, CS Leader Posts: 80 Expert
    Photogenic First Anniversary First Comment Office Hours Host 2022
    edited February 2022
    Options

Hi @Amanda Watson, I'm happy to discuss live - I just sent you a DM to arrange a time.
    I've done this a few times and I'm always happy to share and learn.
    Thanks!

• Jeffrey Kushmerek
    Jeffrey Kushmerek Member Posts: 96 Expert
    Photogenic First Anniversary 5 Insightfuls Name Dropper
    edited February 2022
    Options
    Hi Colin!