Asking for Title Change / Promotion

Options
Alex Tran
Alex Tran Member Posts: 38 Expert
First Anniversary
edited August 2023 in CS Conversations
I recently helped with the planning, execution, and launch of my company's first ever tech touch / digital-led customer segment.

I'm currently a Client Outcomes Manager (our version of CSM) and have been for the 1.5 years I've been with the company. I now oversees the tech touch segment on top of managing customers day-to-day.

I'm looking to go to management to request a title change, but not sure how. Some titles I'm thinking of:
  1. Client Outcomes Digital Led / Tech Touch Lead
  2. Client Outcomes Manager & Digital Led Program Manager
For those of you who have been promoted before, how did you manage this conversation? What was your approach to management?
Tagged:

Comments

• Emmanuel Malanda
    Emmanuel Malanda Member Posts: 12 Contributor
    First Anniversary
    edited August 2020
    Options
    Hi Alex,

i am not going to comment or attempt to suggest which title to chose because i think you know best what you are looking for and you understand the context better than anyone else on here; however, i would provide some guidance which i have found very useful throughout my career.

It sounds like you are a very driven person and generally people and here i mean managers like that. I am not sure what process you have in terms of talent management within your firm so i would suggest utilising/ exploring that vehicle to ensure you have Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, Time-based (SMART) goals which you and your manager can agree on and which will help you move to the next level.