Being passed up for a candidate with more "industry experience"

Options
Erie Burkland
Erie Burkland Member Posts: 1 Navigator
edited August 2023 in CS Conversations
Hi all, 

First time posting here!

I've been on the job hunt since April due to Covid-19 layoffs and it's not been easy. Unfortunately, all of my software experience is in the restaurant tech space which I'm trying to avoid in my next role. I'm looking for a Sr. CSM or CS Lead position at a company that serves a different industry so I can keep learning and not pigeon hole myself as the "restaurant guy".

This has been a big challenge because every time I complete the interview process, I hear back that the company went with another candidate that has more "industry experience" than me. It's frustrating because I'm only applying to roles where I meet every requirement listed on the posting.

I have 5 years of software experience - 4 years are in CS (CSM up to Team Lead) and one year as a Product Manager. I have a thorough understanding of Customer Success both as a philosophy and a discipline. I've been part of an agile product development team. I'm constantly seeking out and consuming Saas related articles, podcasts, forums to stay on top of the latest trends. 

My question is for anyone here that has done the hiring for a CS department- Is there anything I can do to stand out from other candidates during the interview process (regardless of industry experience) and show them that I'm a no brainer for hiring? 

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Tiffany Morin
    Tiffany Morin Member Posts: 20 Thought Leader
    edited September 2020
    Options
    I am assuming your resume hits all of the keywords needed? Do you mention your successes in terms of retention, expansion, etc? Maybe stay away from mentioning your specific industry experience unless it applies to the role at hand.