Appropriate level of touch for top tier

Wendy Johnson
Wendy Johnson Member Posts: 11 Contributor
First Anniversary
edited August 2023 in CS Org Conversations
Hi all,

My background is in managing in strategic accounts and strategic account CSMs where we had a 1:few (ie 5-10) accounts, with ~$10M  per book. This motion I know intimately. 

Current employer characterizes its Tier A accounts as strategic. Very different scenario, however. 1:50-75 accounts with $5M per book. Yet their expectations are nevertheless that the playbook should resemble one where there is a substantive internal pod and external client alignment call, deep multi threaded relationships, quarterly executive reviews, etc. -- all in a world where alignment around business outcomes has not yet been achieved and supporting playbooks (and supporting templates/resources) have not been developed. In short, a repeatable, scalable process does not yet exist.

In your experience, are current expectations realistic? To me, this feels more akin to a MMKT or well-oiled ENT play.

Very much want to ensure the team is set up for success. Am inclined to advocate for a different kind of touch but thought to reach out to the cmty for input first. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Marcus Pemberton
    Marcus Pemberton Member Posts: 1 Navigator
    First Anniversary
    edited September 2020
    I've had a similar problem in the past - the simple way I framed the issue to the board was that, if all we did was quarterly exec reviews, then with 50 accounts per CSM they would be doing four of those per week - far too many to prepare for and execute properly. Scale that up across all of your different required touch points and you end up with an unreachable number of meetings required per week, and your playbooks start to go out of the window.