Building a CSM team from the ground floor....

Options
Brooke Carrie
Brooke Carrie Member Posts: 20 Thought Leader
edited April 2021 in CS Technology
Hello GGR community, 

I have recently started (2nd week) at a company as the first CSM team member. I have 7 years experience as a CSM but have never started up a department from scratch - a fun, but tough, challenge!

As of now the only tools I have at my disposable are HubSpot, Teams, Power BI, and GSuite. I am struggling to identify the best way to leverage these to put together a good CSM workflow/structure. There is no budget, for now, for any other tools. I am trying to think of how to leverage what we have for our current size but also how to scale for future growth. A fun, but tough, challenge! 

Anyone have feedback on how they have leveraged HubSpot for CSM work? It is a new tool for me and it seems more Sales and Marketing focused from what I can tell. 
I have a dashboard in HubSpot that gives me quick access to my accounts. I plan to leverage the Notes section for updates on account statuses. I have a field on the account that identifies the CSM. But other then that, I am not sure how else to be leverage the features it offers. 

We don't have health scores yet, though that is on my list to work on in the near future. Same with NPS, CSAT surveys, etc. 
I am currently working on the customer journey, handoff document, QBR presentation templates, roles/responsibilities for CSMs (for when the team is more then just me), and tiering of customers. 

Would also love to hear any lessons learned or insight from others who have started from the ground floor. Anything you wish you had done at the beginning? Things you wish you hadn't done? Tips/tricks? 

Thanks for help and giving me in a push in the right direction!

**Update: I just want to thank everyone who has responded. Just hearing that others are encountering the same struggles has helped me not feel so alone in this journey. Thank you so much!**

-Brooke