Going from CSM to Manager of CS?

Options
Kevin Mitchell Leonor
Kevin Mitchell Leonor Member Posts: 248 Expert
First Comment Name Dropper First Anniversary
edited August 2023 in CS Conversations
I am now completing my 3rd year in Customer Success and entering my 4th. I am building towards working as a manager-director. 

The challenge many people looking to make this jump are having is the lack of CS Management experience. Myself, I have 9 years of management experience, but only 8 months of that in CS and that was just really managing two CS Associates.

A lot of companies have told me they want to see CS management and are discounting my sales management or operations management experience. So here is what I have been doing to gain the experience without the title.

1) As a new hire at Zoom, I have been leading a new hire CS group to help upskill the team and collaborated with my manager to drive the agenda.
2) I have graduated a cohort of 10 that is now working in SaaS/CS that I am still actively supporting while coaching a second cohort that I am aiming to get them their first SaaS/CS position

What are some other ways I could bridge any gaps in hiring if I don't have the Manager of CS or Manager, Customer Success title?

Comments

• Jordan Silverman
    Jordan Silverman Member, CS Leader Posts: 109 Expert
    First Comment 5 Likes Photogenic First Anniversary
    edited November 2021
    Options
    Congrats Kevin, sounds like you are well on your way and making great strides!

I think being a CSM is some of the best training future managers can get. As a CSM our responsibility is to remove barriers and obstacles stopping clients from being successful.

As a manager you have the same job, only you are removing the barriers stopping your team from being successful.

Few things I have done when trying to level up: