Interviewing customers for testimonials

Options
Jeffrey Numark
Jeffrey Numark Member Posts: 2 Navigator
edited October 2023 in CS Org Conversations

I was wondering if anyone has some templates for questions that customers can answer while giving a testimonial? Something like, "What problems were you having before adopting XYZ solution? How did you justify the purchase?"

Comments

• David Ellin
    David Ellin Member Posts: 170 Expert
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Comment
    edited June 2020
    Options

@Jeffrey Numark, I've had some great experiences just asking the customer why they agreed to provide a testimonial and then recording whatever they say. They bring out all the issues, why they made the selection, and the value they've received.

Always good to have a few questions should they get stuck or not say what you'd like. In most cases, they'll do a great job on their own! Make sure you record it so you can capture verbatim quotes and edit as appropriate.

• Rob Schmeltzer
    Rob Schmeltzer Member Posts: 4 Navigator
    edited June 2020
    Options

@Jeffrey Numark   I like @David L Ellin approach, and will try that.  I would add you should make sure to have a few questions that go past what problem they needed to solve and the results.  Testimonials that get into HOW they were successful with the solution can be very powerful.  How did you get the solution up and running?  How did you overcome internal obstacles to get your team to adopt the solution?  What were they able to do better/differently as a result?  I find it makes the story very relatable to others when the testimonial gets into how they did it, not just why they did it.

• Jeff Breunsbach
    Jeff Breunsbach Member Posts: 266 Gain Grow Retain Staff
    5 Insightfuls Photogenic First Anniversary GGR Blogger 2022
    edited June 2020
    Options

@Bob London might have some great insight to share here!

• Thomas Hussenet
    Thomas Hussenet Member Posts: 9 Seeker